Skip Navigation

Brockport / Anthropology / Faculty / Home

Faculty

Our Faculty 

Our award winning faculty work one-on-one with students to help cultivate each individual's areas of interest.  Faculty research - often assisted by students - runs the gamut: HIV/AIDS prevention, rights of indigenous peoples, labor migration and globalization, support for refugee populations, environmental change and land-use patterns, forensic anthropology, folk arts and performance tradition, and much more.

Our Research Covers the World:

Jordan, Hungary, Cambodia, Guatemala and Central/South America, Zambia, South Africa, Thailand, Israel, Italy and all over the US.        

 

Faculty

Dr. Ann Bunch, Interim Chair of Anthropology
Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice
Ph.D., University of Chicago
abunch@brockport.edu

Dr. Pilapa Esara Carroll
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Brown University, 2007
pesara@brockport.edu

Dr. Douglas Feldman
Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., SUNY Stony Brook, 1981
dfeldman@brockport.edu

Dr. Neal Keating
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., SUNY Albany, 2002
nkeating@brockport.edu

Dr. Jennifer Ramsay
Assistant Professor of Archaeology
SUNY Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence
Ph.D., Simon Fraser University, 2008
jramsay@brockport.edu

Dr. Tiffany Rawlings
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Simon Fraser University, 2006
trawling@brockport.edu

Adjuncts

Irene Ketonen
Ph.D. candidate, SUNY Buffalo
ireneket@buffalo.edu

Dr. Alexander Smith
Ph.D., Brown University, 2015
alsmith@Brockport.edu

Sara Zacharias
Ph.D. candidate, SUNY Buffalo
slynch@brockport.edu
 
Dr. Christine Zinni
Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo
cfzinni@hotmail.com

 

Emeriti

Dr. Margaret Blackman
mblackma@brockport.edu

Dr. Charles Edwards
cedwards@brockport.edu

Dr. Jack Rollwagen

 

Staff

Jackie Deats
jdeats@brockport .edu

 

Last Updated 1/25/16

News

Dr. Esara Caroll organized/chaired a two-part panel called "Fieldworkers' Insights into Refugee Resettlement" and presented a paper at the Society for Applied Anthropology meetings in Vancouver, BC, March 29–31, 2016

Dr. Esara Carroll's project Supporting Adult Refugee Students is being funded by The Reed Foundation Inc. Read all about it.

Dr. Neal Keating (Anthropology) presents paper at the Indigenous Language Conference held on Haudenosaunee Six Nations Grand River Territory in Canada. Check it out.

Dr. Pilapa Esara Carroll shares the activism of a refugee documentary director in the latest issue of (585) Magazine. Read more here.

Events

Please join us on Thursday, April 14, from 5 to 6:15 pm in Edwards 106 for our second lecture in our Marjorie Helen Stewart Speaker series from Dr. Micah Morton, titled, "Reframing the boundaries of indigenism: Akha mobile indigeneities in the Upper Mekong Region."