Skip Navigation

Brockport / Anthropology / Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships and Awards

The Department of Anthropology presently offers the Edwin S. Hall Jr. Scholarship,  Marjorie Helen Stewart Award and our Departmental Scholars award.

Eligible Anthropology majors should apply online at

Scholarship Descriptions

The Edwin S. Hall Jr. Scholarship

An educational expense grant of $1000, used for educational expenses at the College at Brockport and awarded to an Anthropology major who meets the following criteria: 3.4 or higher overall GPA, junior standing, minimum of 15 credit hours in Anthropology earned at Brockport, demonstrated academic excellence and potential for the application of Anthopological knowledge to chosen career.

Edwin S. Hall Jr. received his PhD in Anthropology from Yale University. His 30+ seasons of archaeological and ethnohistorical fieldwork were conducted in northern and northwestern Alaska where he also served as a consulting archaeologist for the US Geological Survey and The North Slope Borough. He is the author of numerous articles and books, among them The Eskimo Storyteller: Folktales from Noatak Alaska (1975) and Northwest Coast Indian Graphics: An Introduction to Silkscreen Prints (1981). At Brockport he taught Introduction to Archaeology, North American Archaeology, Culture Change, The American Indian, and Native American Art. Dr. Hall chaired the Department from 1974 to 1986. An avid collector of contemporary Native American art, he retired from the college in 1992.

The Marjorie Helen Stewart Award

A $200 cash award to an outstanding graduating senior Anthropology major who is pursuing a post-graduate degree and has been accepted into a graduate program.

Marjorie Stewart held a DPhil in Anthropology from Oxford University and conducted fieldwork in Nigeria where she investigated the pre-colonial history and socio-political organization of the Borgu Kingdom. Her publications include Borgu and Its Kingdoms: A Reconstruction of a West Sudanese Polity (1993). At Brockport Stewart taught courses on Africa, China, Anthropological Theory, Magic and Witchcraft, Gender, and Language and Culture. She served as chair of the department from 1994-1999. Dr. Stewart was also an accomplished pianist. When she died in 1999, she remembered the Department of Anthropology in her will, and we, in turn, created this award in her name to honor an outstanding senior.



2013 Award Winners:

Lindsay Grome 2013-2014 Departmental Scholar - Pictured with Dr. Esara and Dr. Rawlings

Lindsay Grome - Departmental Scholar 2014

Lindsay Petry, 2013 Recipient Edwin S. Hall Jr. Scholarship

Lindsay Petry in the Lab

Geoffrey Hedges 2013 Recipient Marjorie Helen Stewart Award

Geoffrey Hedges in Petra, Jordan

Jessica Martin Department Scholar 2012-2013

Jessica Martin with Family and Faculty

Richard Lovelace 2012 Rochester Area Colleges Continuing Education (RACCE) Consortium Outstanding Adult Students At Brockport.

Richard Loveland Award


Last Updated 5/6/14


Dr. Ramsay published an article: Ramsay, J.H. and Eger, A. 2015. Analysis of Archaeobotanical Material from the Tupras Field project of the Kinet Höyük Excavations. Journal of Islamic Archaeology 2 (1): 35-50.

Dr. Feldman was recently on the Coy Barefoot Show (2 radio 30 minute shows) in May and June 2015:
The Coy Barefoot Show, 107.5 FM (Charlottesville, VA), 2015 (two 30 minute shows on “Same Sex Marriage” and “Baltimore, the Police, and African Americans”).

Dr. Feldman chaired a session and gave a presentation at the Society for Applied Anthropology meeting in March: “Panic and Stigma: Similarities and Differences of the HIV/AIDS and Ebola Crises,” paper presented at the Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA), Pittsburgh, March 2015

Dr. Keating publishes an article on Cambodia in "The Indigenous World 2015," published by the International Working Group on Indigenous Affairs. (IWGIA). Copenhagen.

Dr. Keating participates in the 14th UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues in New York City, April 20–21.

Dr. Keating presents a paper at the Association for Asian Studies Conference in Chicago, March 25–29.

Dr. Esara Carroll presents her research on refugee resettlement at the Society
for Applied Anthropology, March 2015.

Dr. Esara Carroll talks about International Women's Day on WXXI's Morning
Edition radio program, March 2015.

Dr. Ramsay publishes two articles in Vegetation History and Archaeobotany, February 2015 and March 2015.


Welcome back!  We are looking forward to an exciting fall semester!