Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Earth Science Major (BA/BS)

Earth Science Major


Earth science majors must earn a minimum of 32 core and elective credits (in Earth Science and Geology) and an additional 19 credits in related lab sciences and mathematics. The core and elective courses that constitute the curriculum of this interdisciplinary major embody the knowledge base and methodologies of geology (solid earth and its resources), meteorology (the atmosphere and its movement), and hydrology (water and its cycling through the environment). As such, this major offers a flexible and broadly based program of study that is well suited for students who are preparing for school teaching (elementary or secondary) or planning for a career in environmental regulation, resource management or park service. By supplementing the major-related course work with additional electives, or an appropriate minor, a student may structure her/his study toward a special interest area, such as journalism, technical writing, business, or graduate study in geography, resource management, urban planning, or museum science.

What can I do with an earth science major?

Admission to the Program

Any undergraduate student can declare this major.

Program Requirements

Students in the earth science major pursue either a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree, and must complete the corresponding degree's requirements.

Required Core Courses

  • GEL201 Introduction to Physical Geology
  • ESC222 Introduction to Water Resources
  • ESC211 Introduction to Meteorology

Minimum Total Number of Core Credits: 32

Required Corequisite Courses

  • MTH201 Calculus I
  • CHM205 Chemistry I
  • CHM206 Chemistry II

Total Number of Corequisite Credits: 20

Some electives are offered only once every two years.

An upper-division course from the major requirements corresponding to that elective area may be substituted with written permission. E.g., another course required for the geology major may be used in place of GEL 302 or 312.

Department of Earth Sciences

Department Chair: Mark Noll
Location: Lennon 221
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2636
Fax: (585) 395-2416

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Whitney J Autin Ph.D
(Louisiana State University + Agricultural + Mechan)

Dave Boehm MS
(SUNY At Buffalo)

Stephen Jessup Ph.D
(Cornell University)
Assistant Professor

Lauri A Kifer AAS
(Monroe Community College)
Secretary 1

Leigh J Little Ph.D
(Arizona State University At The Tempe Campus)
Associate Professor

Judy Massare Ph.D
(Johns Hopkins University)

Thomas M McDermott BS
(SUNY College At Brockport)
Systems Administrator

Mark R Noll Ph.D
(University Of Delaware)
Professor and Chair

Paul Richards Ph.D
(Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus)
Associate Professor

Scott M Rochette Ph.D
(Saint Louis University-Main Campus)
Associate Professor

Robert S Weinbeck Ph.D
(Iowa State University)
Assoc Prof

James A Zollweg Ph.D
(Cornell University)
Associate Professor