Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Film Studies Minor

Film Studies Minor


The film studies program is an interdisciplinary minor designed to aid students in developing a broad understanding of the history of film, an awareness of film language used by filmmakers, and a critical viewing ability. The program's faculty come from a variety of departments, including Anthropology, Art History, Communication, English, History, and others. For more information contact the Director of the Film Studies Minor, c/o Department of English.

Admission to the Program

Any undergraduate student can declare a film studies minor.

Program Requirements

The film studies minor consists of 18 credits as follows:

Required Courses (9 credits)

  • FLM 250 Film History Part I
  • FLM 251 Film History Part II
  • FLM 301 Theory and Criticism of Film

Elective Courses Selected by Advisement (9 credits)

  • one "film and society" course
  • two additional film studies courses

Elective options come from a variety of disciplines and departments and may vary according to availability. Recent elective courses have included the following:

  • ANT 304 Native American Images in Film and Media
  • CMC 200 Introduction to Digital Video
  • CMC 348 Video Production
  • CMC 372 Film as Social Commentary
  • CMC 446 Advanced Electronic Production
  • CMC 451 Documentary Production
  • CMC 463 Media and Society
  • HST 354 American Film
  • MUS 401 India Film Music
  • WMS 261 Queer Film and TV

Department of English

Department Chair: Jennifer Haytock
Location: Hartwell 211
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2503
Fax: (585) 395-2391

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Sharon L Allen Ph.D
(Princeton University)
Associate Professor

Robert Baker
Coordinator of Composition

Ralph W Black Ph.D
(New York University)
Associate Professor + Co-Director, Writers Forum

Samuel Brock BA
(California Lutheran University)
Graduate Assistant

Miriam E Burstein Ph.D
(University Of Chicago)
Associate Professor

Austin M Busch Ph.D
(Indiana University-Bloomington)
Associate Professor

Kristi J Castleberry MA
(University Of Rochester)
Adjunct Lecturer

Sarah M Cedeno MA
(SUNY College At Brockport)

Michael S Chojnowski MA
(SUNY At Fredonia)

Brooke A Conti Ph.D
(Yale University)
On Leave

John C Curry MA
(SUNY College At Brockport)

April Daniels BA
(University Of Rochester)
Graduate Assistant

Mary A Donovan-Wright MA
(SUNY Empire State College)

Sasha J Eloi MA
(Syracuse University)
Adjunct Lecturer

Stephen Fellner Ph.D
(University Of Utah)
Associate Professor

T Gregory Garvey Ph.D
(University Of Wisconsin-Madison)

Monica Gilligan MS
(SUNY At Buffalo)

Jennifer Haytock Ph.D
(University Of North Carolina At Chapel Hill)
Professor and Chair

Janie W Hinds Ph.D
(University Of Tulsa)

Mary Jo Iuppa MA
(SUNY College At Brockport)

Stefan Jurasinski Ph.D
(Indiana University-Kokomo)
Associate Professor

Alissa G Karl Ph.D
(University Of Washington-Seattle Campus)
Assistant Professor

Alicia L Kerfoot Ph.D
(McMaster University)
Assistant Professor

J Roger Kurtz Ph.D
(University Of Iowa)
Professor/ Chair Anthropology + African A-America Studies

Tanya Kuzylak MLS
(SUNY At Buffalo)

Lars Mazzola Ph.D
(University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities)

Laura M McSpadden BS
(Manchester College)
Graduate Assistant

Thomas R Metzger MLS
(SUNY College At Geneseo)

Meg A Norcia Ph.D
(University Of Florida)
Associate Professor

Megan L Obourn Ph.D
(New York University)
Associate Professor

Anne M Panning Ph.D
(University Of Hawaii At Manoa)
Professor + Co-Director, Writers Forum

Paul A Persia MA
(The University Of Tennessee)

Kristen Proehl Ph.D
(College Of William And Mary)
Assistant Professor

Sidney Rosenzweig Ph.D
(University Of Rochester)

Kerstin Rudolph MA
(University Of Illinois University Administration)
Adjunct Lecturer

Carter Soles Ph.D
(University Of Oregon)
Assistant Professor

Matthew A Taber MS
(Nazareth College Of Rochester)

Althea Tait Ph.D
(Morgan State University)
Assistant Professor

Sevinc Turkkan Ph.D
(University Of Illinois At Urbana-Champaign)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Susan L Vasquez BS
(SUNY College At Brockport)
Secretary 1

Elizabeth Whittingham Ph.D
(SUNY College At Buffalo)

James Whorton Ph.D
(University Of Southern Mississippi)
Associate Professor + Associate Chair

Phil E Young Ph.D
(University Of South Alabama)

Kelley W Zanghi MA
(SUNY At Fredonia)