Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Museum Studies and Public History (Minor)

Interdisciplinary Minor in Museum Studies and Public History


The Museum Studies and Public History Minor is an interdisciplinary minor using courses from the Departments of History, Anthropology, African and African-American Studies, Art, and Communication. The program consists of courses that enhance the students' knowledge of museums, public history, heritage and preservation, and public culture. It is designed for students who are interested in these subjects or in pursuing careers related to museum work and/or graduate studies.

The minor should especially appeal to students who major in one or more of the following disciplines:

Admission to the Program

An undergraduate student who has reached sophomore status can declare the Interdisciplinary Minor in Museum Studies and Public History.

Program Requirements

The minor requires 18 credits. Students must earn a grade of "C" or higher in all minor coursework.

Students design their course of study in close consultaiton with their minor advisor from the options identified below.

Department of History

Department Chair: Owen Ireland
Location: Liberal Arts 308
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2377
Fax: (585) 395-2620

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Katherine Clark Ph.D
(Indiana University-Bloomington)
Associate Professor

John P Daly Ph.D
(Rice University)
Associate Professor

Carl Davila Ph.D
(Yale University)
Associate Professor

Owen S Ireland Ph.D
(University Of Pittsburgh-Main Campus)
Distinguished Teaching Professor and Chair

W Bruce Leslie Ph.D
(Johns Hopkins University)
Distinguished Service Professor

Anne S Macpherson Ph.D
(University Of Wisconsin-Madison)
Associate Professor

Salahuddin Malik Ph.D
(McGill University)

Morag S Martin Ph.D
(University Of California-Irvine)
Associate Professor

Paul B Moyer Ph.D
(College Of William And Mary)
Associate Professor and Associate Chair

Takashi Nishiyama Ph.D
(Ohio State University-Main Campus)
Associate Professor

Kenneth P O'Brien Ph.D
(Northwestern University)
Associate Professor + Director of Transfer Articulation

Alison M Parker Ph.D
(Johns Hopkins University)

Meredith L Roman Ph.D
(Michigan State University)
Associate Professor

Teri L Rombaut BA
(Blackburn College)
Secretary 1

Andrew Russo BA
(SUNY Empire State College)
Teaching Assistant

Erin Shea BS
(SUNY College At Brockport)
Teaching Assistant

Angela Thompsell Ph.D
(University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor)
Assistant Professor

Jose R Torre Ph.D
(SUNY At Binghamton)
Associate Professor