Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Music Minor

Music Minor


The College offers classes in applied music, music theory, music history and music appreciation, both to fulfill a music minor and General Education requirements. Interested students may participate in musical ensembles.

A unique collaboration has been developed with Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO), which includes RPO performances on the Brockport campus; an RPO member teaching a music course on campus, and invited musicians presenting lecture-demonstrations. Music courses also serve as a component of the arts for children program. Music classes and the music minor are offered by the Department of Theatre and Music Studies.

Admission to the Program

For admission to the music minor program, students must pass a pretest or successfully complete MUS 105 Introduction to Music.

Program Requirements

The minor in music consists of 18 credits as follows:

Note: Music minors must participate in an ensemble for a minimum of two semesters. Maximum amount of credit for ensemble participation is two credits. Students may participate in ensembles for no credit.

Department of Theatre and Music Studies

Department Chair: P Gibson Ralph
Location: Tower 1101
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2478
Fax: (585) 395-5872

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Gail B Argetsinger MA
(Bowling Green State University-Main Campus)
Associate Professor

Elizabeth C Banner MA
(SUNY College At Brockport)

Davida Bloom Ph.D
(University Of Colorado At Boulder)
Associate Professor

Paul C Boutte AA
(Monroe Community College)
Lecturer/ Gospel Choir Director

Geraldine Brodt BS
(Daemen College)
Adjunct Lecturer/ Costume Shop Manager

Ruth Childs MFA
(University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities)
Associate Professor

David H Chisholm DMA
(University Of Rochester)
Adjunct Lecturer

Oh Kon Cho Ph.D
(Michigan State University)

Brian E Clickner BA
(Roberts Wesleyan College)

Anthony Dumas Ph.D
(University Of California-Davis)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Susanna M Heins BA
(SUNY College At Brockport)
Secretary 1

Susan Hopkins BA
(SUNY College At Brockport)

Danny Hoskins MA
(University Of South Carolina-Columbia)

Michael C Krickmire MFA
(Illinois State University)

Francis X Kuhn MFA
(Southern Methodist University)
Professor + Chair Facilities Planning Committee

Robert Laird MA
(University Of Rochester)

Gary T Musante MFA
(University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor)
Technical Director

P Gibson Ralph MA
(University Of Michigan-Ann Arbor)
Associate Professor + Interim Chair

Natalie Sarrazin Ph.D
(University Of Maryland-Baltimore)
Associate Professor + Co-Director Hunter's Institute

Paul Schreiner MFA
(Virginia Polytechnic Institute And State Universit)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Maria T Scipione BS
(SUNY College At Brockport)

Richard R St George MFA
(Illinois State University)

Karl J Stabnau BM
(University Of Rochester)

Law Tarello BA
(SUNY At Fredonia)