Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Political Science Major (BA/BS)

Political Science Major


Political Science is the study of the state and of power relations within and among states, as they are and as they ought to be. It seeks a better understanding of political and governmental behavior and institutions in order to enable society to use its collective resources more effectively for the general welfare. The principal sub-fields of the discipline are: American politics, comparative politics, international relations and political theory.

What can I do with a political science major?

Admission to the Program

Any undergraduate student can declare this major.

Program Requirements

Students in the political science major pursue either a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree, and must complete the corresponding degree's requirements.


  • PLS 111
  • PLS 112
  • PLS 113
  • PLS 203
  • PLS 303
  • THREE additional Political Science elective courses (nine credits)

Total Number of Credits: 36

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Department Chair: Dena Levy
Location: Hartwell 211
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2584
Fax: (585) 395-5679

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Geoffrey C Bauer MA
(SUNY At Buffalo)

Mark J Chadsey Ph.D
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Associate Professor + Interim Chair

Muditha Halliyadde JSD
(Indiana University-Bloomington)
Adjunct Lecturer

Steven J Jurek Ph.D
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Associate Professor

Jean Kachiga Ph.D
(University of Frankfurt)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Dena B Levy Ph.D
(University Of Iowa)
Associate Professor and Chair

Martin McCarthy JD
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Adjunct Lecturer

Susan E Orr Ph.D
(University Of Florida)
Associate Professor

Sandy M Persons
Keyboard Specialist 1

Andrea Rubery Ph.D
(Georgetown University)

Nilay Saiya Ph.D
(University Of Notre Dame)
Assistant Professor

Robert Shum Ph.D
(Johns Hopkins University)
Assistant Professor