Brockport / Catalogs / 2013-14 / Programs / Political Science Minor

Political Science Minor


Political Science is the study of the state and of power relations within and among states, as they are and as they ought to be. It seeks a better understanding of political and governmental behavior and institutions in order to enable society to use its collective resources more effectively for the general welfare. The principal sub-fields of the discipline are: American politics, comparative politics, international relations and political theory. The Political Science minor provides students with an overview of the fundamental concepts of the discipline.

Admission to the Program

Any undergraduate student can declare this minor.

Program Requirements

The political science minor consists of 18 credits of Political Science courses in consultation with a faculty advisor as follows:

Total Number of Credits: 18

Department of Political Science and International Studies

Department Chair: Dena Levy
Location: Hartwell 211
Visit Website
Phone: (585) 395-2584
Fax: (585) 395-5679

Related Programs

Other Undergraduate Programs

Faculty & Staff

Geoffrey C Bauer MA
(SUNY At Buffalo)

Mark J Chadsey Ph.D
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Associate Professor + Interim Chair

Muditha Halliyadde JSD
(Indiana University-Bloomington)
Adjunct Lecturer

Steven J Jurek Ph.D
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Associate Professor

Jean Kachiga Ph.D
(University of Frankfurt)
Visiting Assistant Professor

Dena B Levy Ph.D
(University Of Iowa)
Associate Professor and Chair

Martin McCarthy JD
(SUNY At Buffalo)
Adjunct Lecturer

Susan E Orr Ph.D
(University Of Florida)
Associate Professor

Sandy M Persons
Keyboard Specialist 1

Andrea Rubery Ph.D
(Georgetown University)

Nilay Saiya Ph.D
(University Of Notre Dame)
Assistant Professor

Robert Shum Ph.D
(Johns Hopkins University)
Assistant Professor