Skip Navigation


The Department of Chemistry participates with the Departments of Biological Sciences and Earth Science in offering a major in Environmental Science with concentrations in Aquatic Ecology, Terrestrial Ecology, Earth Science and Environmental Chemistry. Courses required of students majoring in each of the concentrations include:

BIO201, Biology I
BIO202, Biology II
BIO303, Ecology
CHM205, College Chemistry I
CHM205, College Chemistry II

CHM303, Analytical Chemistry
CRJ440, Environmental Law
ESC211, Weather
GEL101, Our Earth
MTH201, Calculus I

Additional courses required of students in the Environmental Chemistry Concentration are:

CHM301 Chemical Safety
CHM305 Organic Chemistry I
CHM306 Organic Chemistry II
CHM400 Chemistry Seminar I
CHM401 Chemistry Seminar II
CHM405 Physical Chemistry I
CHM406 Physical Chemistry II
CHM408 Physical Chemistry Lab I
CHM409 Physical Chemistry Lab II

CHM4XX, Environmental Chemistry

MTH202 Calculus II
MTH203 Calculus III

PHS201 College Physics I
PHS202 College Physics II

Although the required chemistry, mathematics and physics courses of this concentration are identical to those required by the minimum major in chemistry, the student is technically an environmental science major rather than a chemistry major. Upon registering as an environmental science major, you will be assigned an advisor associated with the Environmental Science Program. Nevertheless, the Chemistry Majors’ Advisor as well as other members of the faculty of the Department of Chemistry are willing and able to answer most questions you might have about scheduling of courses and are more than willing to do so.

You may augment any one of the basic, four-year, chemistry major curriculum patterns with BIO201, BIO202, BIO303, CRJ440, ESC211 and GEL101 to plan a program leading to a major in Environmental Science with a Concentration in Chemistry. You should note that it is exceedingly important to schedule your required calculus and college physics courses early in your curriculum plan since these courses are prerequisites of physical chemistry.

For information regarding any of the Environmental Science major’s Concentrations, contact Professor Joseph C. Makarewicz, Interim Director of the Environmental Science Program. Contact Professor Markus M. Hoffmann, the Chemistry Department’s Representative to the Environmental Science Board, for information specific to the Chemistry Concentration.

Joseph C. Makarewicz
Interim Director
Environmental Science Program
125 Lennon Hall
(585) 395-2193

Markus M. Hoffmann
Chemistry Department Representative
Environmental Science Board
222 Smith Hall
(585) 395-5587