Skip Navigation

Brockport / College Senate / University Faculty Senate

College Senate

University Faculty Senate

2007 UFS Spring Plenary Meeting Hosted by Brockport

The SUNY Board of Trustees approved the creation of the University Faculty Senate on October 8, 1953. Article VII of the SUNY Policies of the Board of Trustees states "the Senate shall be the official agency through which the University Faculty engages in the governance of the University. The Senate shall be concerned with effective educational policies and other professional matters within the University."

The UFS membership consists of the Chancellor of the University, two University representatives having University-wide responsibilities and representatives from each State-operated unit and contract college. This is a total of 33 SUNY colleges. This makes the University Faculty Senate one of the largest faculty governance organizations in the country!

The University Faculty Senate serves as a resource on governance for the University. It serves as a deliberative body on educational policies for the SUNY System. In this capacity it issues publications such as handbooks, directories and reports on matters such as budget, program revision and presidential searches. (excerpt from the University Faculty Senate Website)


Term of Service
University Senators, Past and Present
P. Gibson Ralph
P. Gibson- Ralph
Gabriel Prajitura
Kenneth P. O'Brien
President of the
University Faculty Senate
Kenneth O'Brien
P. Gibson Ralph
P. Gibson- Ralph
Mark Noll
Earth Science
Mark Noll
Kenneth P. O'Brien
Honors Program
Kenneth O'Brien
Jennifer Lloyd
Jennifer Lloyd
Kenneth P. O'Brien
Transfer Articulation, History, Honors Program
Kenneth O'Brien
Dena Levy
Political Science & International Studies
Melissa Brown
Gail Hagenah
2000 (Fall)
Walter Borowiec
Political Science and International Studies
Rich Fenton
Business Administration and Economics
Morris Beers
Education and Human Development
Gail Hagenah
Vice President of the University Senate
David Jewell
Recreation and Leisure Studies
Billy Reed

The Faculty Bylaws of The College at Brockport

Article Eight, Section A.

4. Faculty shall vote separately for the Office of the Senate President-elect, University Senator, and University Senator Alternate.  Senators-at-Large shall be elected by joint ballot.  Elections shall be resolved by a majority of the votes cast by at least one-fourth (1/4) of the Faculty.

5. If no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast, a run-off election shall be held within two (2) weeks of the regular election between those two (2) candidates receiving the highest number of votes cast.  Elections shall be decided by a majority of the votes cast.

6. In the event of uncontested candidacies, ballots shall be marked “Endorse” or “Do Not Endorse.”  The candidate must receive a majority endorsement of those votes cast in a qualified election.  In the event the candidate does not, a new election will be held consistent with these Bylaws.

7. In the event of there being no candidates for University Senator, or in the event of a vacancy, the Senate President may, upon consultation with the Executive Committee, appoint a Senator to serve in that capacity until the next election.

8. In the event that a University Faculty Senator cannot attend a plenary meeting of the University Faculty Senate, the President of the College Senate shall appoint an alternate senator and inform the President of the University Faculty Senate of the appointment at least one week before the plenary.

University Faculty Senate, Albany:

Return to Top