Skip Navigation

Brockport / EOP / Chi Alpha Epsilon

Chi Alpha Epsilon (XAE) National Honor Society - Epsilon Rho Chapter

Society History

XAE BannerFounded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Chi Alpha Epsilon was organized in 1989. Responding to an increased need to acknowledge the continuing successes of students in the Academic Development Program and recognizing that students who share similar experiences could serve as significant models for others, a Greek letter honor society was proposed by Dr. Elbert Saddler. A university psychologist and counseling coordinator for the ACT 101 Program, Dr. Saddler identified eligible students and alumni to form the nucleus who are now the Founding members of XAE.

Directors of Student Support Services, McNair Scholars, Educational Opportunity Programs, and developmental programs at many colleges and universities have hailed its formation. The National Association for Developmental Education (NADE) has officially endorsed Chi Alpha Epsilon as an honor society for developmental education students. The Council for Opportunity in Education is also encouraging participation.

Chi Alpha Epsilon was formed to recognize the academic achievements of students admitted to colleges and the universities through non-traditional criteria and serves developmental, SSS, McNair Scholars, and Educational Opportunity Program students. Its purposes are to promote continued high academic standards, to foster increased communication among its members, and to honor academic excellence achieved by those students. The involvement of eligible alumni enables networking for members. Programs sponsored by the society encourage other students toward this accomplishment.

The honor society also has the potential to be a significant political force in the support of funding for developmental studies and educational opportunity programs nationwide.

Chapter History

On Friday, November 7, 2008, the Epsilon Rho Chapter of Chi Alpha Epsilon was chartered. That was the beginning of a long relationship between, The College at Brockport, our students, faculty, administration, alumni, and our society. Charter Members are a recorded part of the history of our Society and our institution. We edify them by reciting their names at each induction. The Charter Members of Epsilon Rho Chapter are:

  • Honorable Eleanor M. Arguinzoni
  • Honorable Daniel B. Askey
  • Honorable Vanessa B. Babb
  • Honorable Robert J. Bradtke
  • Honorable Amber L. Busch
  • Honorable Bomie Cooper
  • Honorable Yanisvel Cordero
  • Honorable Danny L. Cordova
  • Honorable Latasha S. Craig
  • Honorable Arlene A. Cudjoe
  • Honorable Felicia L. Davis
  • Honorable Tierra D. Dillenburg
  • Honorable Christopher A. Fernandez
  • Honorable Jenell J. Frank
  • Honorable Rosemary Guadalupe
  • Honorable Yurim Haw
  • Honorable Katherine L. Hughes
  • Honorable Quintin D. Johnson
  • Honorable Edith A. Koduah
  • Honorable Shaina R. Krimsky
  • Honorable Hannah R. Lipshutz
  • Honorable Alexandra C. Marcellus
  • Honorable Shareen C. Marquez
  • Honorable Jose M. Mejia
  • Honorable Leshawn A. McFarlan
  • Honorable Zurisaday Moreno
  • Honorable Justin D. Oliver
  • Honorable Anthony L. Orphe
  • Honorable Gary O. Owens
  • Honorable Isabel Pecci
  • Honorable Stephanie N. Powell
  • Honorable Kerby S. Simmons
  • Honorable Jessica Thompkins
  • Honorable Antoine M. Thompson
  • Honorable David J. Tobian
  • Honorable Latasha Wade
  • Honorable Willie D. Watson
  • Honorable Rod Wilson
  • Chartering Advisor: Honorable Sophea So


2015-2016 Chapter Officers

  • Honorable Arlene Perez, President
  • Honorable Joel Zavala Baque, Vice President
  • Honorable Romina Owolewa, Secretary
  • Honorable Shoshana Fox, Historian
  • Debra Joseph-McEwen Co-Advisor

The Fall 2015 Induction Ceremony

On Friday November 13, 2015, the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society, Epsilon Rho Chapter and the Arthur O. Eve Opportunity Program at the College at Brockport inducted 18 new members. The inductees also participated in a private induction ceremony earlier that day. With over 60 guests in attendance, Honorable Gary Owens, Director of EOP welcomed the crowd with words of encouragement.  Later in the program, Honorable Gary Owens and XAE Co-Advisor Debra Joseph-McEwen assisted Dr. Kathyrn Wilson with the pinning ceremony.

The pin not only represents EOP student's hard work, dedication, and drive for academic success but also has meaning behind each component of the emblem. The Ivy stands for growth, the book for knowledge, the quill for creativity, Chi for center, Alpha for academics, psilon for excellence, blue for philosophy and white for arts. Each inductee asked an individual to pin them who has helped them to continue up their ladder of success. We encourage you to visit the Chi Alpha Epsilon Honor Society website at to learn information about this organization.

Photographic Highlights of the Fall 2015 Induction Ceremony

If you have any questions, feel free to contact the EOP office at 585-395-2547 or


EOP & the Epsilon Rho Chapter of XAE National Honor Society would like to thank the EOP staff, especially XAE Co-Advisor Debra Joseph-McEwen and Da'Neille Kruger, as well as Chapter Officers: President: Honorable Arlene Perez, Vice President: Honorable Joel Zavala Baque, Secretary: Honorable Romina Owolewa, Historian, and Honorable Shoshana Fox, Historian for their assistance in making this event a success.  Special thanks to President John Halstead, Dr. Kathryn Wilson, Ms. Leah Barrett, Mary Tarbrake and the staff of BASC and  family and friends of EOP for your continued love and support.





Charles Alford
Arthur Brooks IV
Jaquawn Johnson-Tisdale
Elizabeth McCuller
Jasmine Sanders
Henry Sarpong
Janiqua Twitty
Lisa Jones
Amorette Shaw


Dana Aulogia
Marina Bah
Tatyana Benoit
Solana Crittenden
Albert Gonzalez
Shanelle Oduro
Gertrude Offei
Jasmine Owusuaah
Lorraine Pemberton
Diana Perla
Jesus Rodriguez
Kairy Rodriguez
Jasmine Santiago






Last Updated 12/4/15