Skip Navigation

Brockport / History / Activities

Student Awards & Activities


       The History Department is extremely proud of the the tradition of excellence set by our majors and graduate students.  We honor many of these achievements every year at the Department Awards and Scholarships Ceremony, where we distribute 14 annual awards funded through  the generosity of alumni, faculty, and friends of the department.

      Traditionally, our students have also been very successful in winning campus-wide awards.  For the past three years, a history student has won the award for Outstanding Graduate Student in The School of the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.  See below for a list of recent awardees.

      The History Department is also proud of our students' engagement in scholarship and the study of history outside the classroom.   In addition to our undergraduate history club, History Forum, our majors and graduate students have historically been well represented at Scholar's Day and some have traveled to present at undergraduate and graduate level conferences throughout the region. 

Follow the links below to see what our students are doing and how you can get involved!


We are delighted to announce that the following students have won campus-wide awards for the 2011-2012 academic year.  Congratulations to each of you!

Paul Constantine, Outstanding Graduate Student Award, The School of the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
This is the third year in a row that this award has gone to a History graduate student.  In 2010-2011 Karin Torres Pena won the award, and in 2009-2010 Michael Fickess won the Graduate award and history major Peter Manktelow won the Outstanding Undergraduate Student award in The School of the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.
Justin Jackson, President's Citation Award
This is the highest award given to a graduating senior at The College at Brockport.  It recognizes a student who is not only outstanding in the classroom - the minimum GPA for consideration is 3.75 - but also one who enhances the life of the college and the surrounding community through their involvement in extra-curricular activities.  
Natalie Walton, Distinguished Professors Award for Graduate Student Research
This competitive, merit-based award funds original graduate student research.
Paige Doerner and Ben Young (co-awardee), Anne and Lynn Parsons Award
Due to the large number of high caliber applications submitted this year, the college decided to award two Parsons fellowships this year, and both were won by History students in our 4+1 program!  The grant, which helps cover the cost of tuition, was established in 2006 by Dr. Lynn and Anne Parsons.  This award has a special link with the History Department.  Dr. Lynn Parsons is an emeritus professor in the Department (his wife, Anne, worked in IT Support Services), and the first award in 2006 went to a History  student, Jasmine Bonow.

Student Activities:

Clubs and Organizations

Scholar's Day






Last Updated 1/16/13


Department hosts NEH Workshop, Rochester Reform Trail, for K-12 teachers in July 2014

History major Amy Freeman publishes article on Eastman Dental Dispensary in the D&C

Dr. Takashi Nishiyama interviewed by Yomuiri, Japan's major national newspaper.

Dr. Ken O'Brien has been named a SUNY Provost Fellow for the 2013-2014 year.

Dr. Bruce Leslie has been made a SUNY Distinguished Service Professor.




The Robert Marcus lecture will be on Thursday, March 6, at 7:30 pm in the New York Room in Cooper Hall.