Skip Navigation

Brockport / History / awards

Undergraduate Awards & Scholarships

Apply Now

To apply for any of the scholarships below, students must submit an application to The College at Brockport's online system, Academic Works.  Once an application is submitted, students will be notified of all scholarship opportunities on campus for which they are eligible.

Celebration of Student Success

Every year, the Department of History gathers to honor the hard work and achievements of our students.  The ceremony is usually held at the beautiful Morgan-Manning House in Brockport, and the evening is a favored event among faculty, students, and parents alike.

Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships

  • Jack Crandall Award in History
    Recognizes an outstanding sophomore history major with a GPA of 3.5 or higher in the major.
  • Kleehamer Department Scholar Prize
    Recognizes a senior history major, usually with the highest GPA, all other things being equal.
  • Robert R. Griswold Award in History
    Recognizes an outstanding junior or senior history major with a GPA of 3.5 or above in history.
  • Kempes Schnell Award in History
    Recognizes the outstanding full-time history major, any class, with GPA of at least 3.25 in the major and with a "pressing financial need." Preference is given to a senior accepted to graduate study in history at The College at Brockport or any other post-graduate professional program at Brockport.
  • Melinda Kleehamer Senior Seminar Prize
    Recognizes outstanding performance by Seniors enrolled in a 400-level research intensive course.
  • Arthur M. Lee Award in History
    Recognizes an outstanding senior with a GPA of 3.5 or above.
  • George S. Queen Essay Award in History
    Recognizes the author of "the best undergraduate essay written during the current academic year."
  • Terry Gore Prize for Military History
    Demonstration of academic excellence as judged through a research paper submitted in a history class. May be awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student.

 Graduate Awards and Fellowships

  • Full-tuition fellowship with stipend for a first-year graduate student.
  • Robert & Sally Bermudes Travel Award
    This award was established to help support graduate students to perform original research.  If funds are available both undergraduate and graduate students may apply for funds to travel to conference and symposia.
  • W. Wayne Dedman Award
    Recognizes an outstanding graduate student with a GPA of 3.5 or above and who must be matriculated and have completed at least 18 graduate credits at the end of the spring semester of the award.
  • Flieger Family Graduate Fellowship
    Awarded competitively, bi-annually to a graduate student.  The fellowship comes with a tuition credit and stipend.  The awardee is expected to work 10 hours per week as a teaching assistant.
  • George S. Queen Essay Award in History
    Recognizes the author of "the best graduate essay written during the current academic year."

All awards and scholarships include a monetary award or a tuition credit, made possible by the generosity of alumni, faculty, students, and friends of the department.  We want to thank each of them for the support and encouragement they give our students. Award amounts vary depending on endowment income for the previous year.

Last Updated 4/6/15


Our sincere congratulations to Matty Lynn Kuhar who won the 2016 School of the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Undergraduate Award!

Dr. Alison Parker has been invited to be this year's Harriet Jacobs Lecturer at Purdue University. Her talk is entitled Mary Church Terrell, Black Women, and the Rise of the Democratic Party. 

Dr. Nishiyama has been invited to give a talk (title "Kamikaze Technology and Culture for War: Japan and the USA, 1941-2001") at the RIT.

Dr. Alison Parker facilitated significant donation of historical papers to Oberlin College and participates in its celebratory symposium on the life of racial justice advocate Mary Church Terrell (1863-1954).

Congratulations to Dr. Jose R. Torre on winning the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching!


History Forum will host Region 11&12 Meeting of the Association of Public Historians of New York State, on 4/30 (Saturday, from 9am to about 4pm) at McCue Auditorium (LAB104).

History Department Graduation Ceremony will be held in New York Room, Cooper Hall, at 10:30 am, May 14 (Saturday).