Skip Navigation

LITS Help

iOS - How to Erase and Reset the device

Overview

This documentation provides the steps to reset an iOS device back to factory default settings.

Resetting a device should only be done in situations that require it.

Please note: Once reset all of your content that is not default to the device will be gone. LITS highly recommends some form of back-up prior to reset. Two common forms of back-up are with iCloud and iTunes.

Note: This documentation is in progress and incomplete. If you have any further questions or are in need of further help please contact the IT Help Desk.

NOTE: You can click the screenshot images to see them in larger view.

Reset to factory default

1) Launch settings.

2) Tap the “General” tab and Swipe to the bottom of the list and tap “Reset”

3) Tap “Erase All Content and Settings”. If there is a Passcode on the device it will require that to be entered now.

4) Tap “Erase” twice. Your device will then go through the reset and power down and will require set-up once it powers on.

Still Need Help? Chat with support

 
ios_apps/reset_ios.txt · Last modified: 2014/06/11 14:35 by dhoenk
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license:CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki