Skip Navigation

Brockport / News & Events / Press Releases

Press Releases

For Immediate Release
November 19, 2009

For more information, contact
David Mihalyov
(585) 395-2577

Anne Panning Named
NY Professor of the Year

Press Release Photo

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) have named Anne Panning, PhD, professor of English at The College at Brockport, State University of New York, the 2009 New York Professor of the Year.

The US Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country; those who excel in teaching and positively influence the lives and careers of students. It is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

Panning has been a member of the Department of English faculty at The College at Brockport since 1997 and is co-director of the Brockport Writers Forum. In addition to teaching both undergraduate and graduate courses, she is the author of Super America: Stories, which received the 2006 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. Her essay “Secondhand” was listed as a “Notable Essay” in The Best American Essays 2007; and “Specs: My Life in Eyeglasses” was listed as “Notable” in The Best American Essays 2006. Most recently, she received the 2009 Lillian Fairchild Award for Super America. The award is given annually by the Department of English at the University of Rochester to a Rochester-area resident who has produced the best visual, literary, or musical work of art during the past year.

“Teaching has become, for me, not just a job but a passion, a lifestyle, a way of being in the world. Every time I step into a classroom I am energized and challenged; every day is an opportunity to influence a student's life in a real and present way. Receiving an award like this is an enormous honor and makes me feel deep gratitude to all the wonderful teachers I've had over the years,” said Panning.

CASE and the Carnegie Foundation have been partners in offering the US Professors of the Year awards program since 1981. This year, there were 38 state winners. CASE assembled two preliminary panels of judges to select finalists. The Carnegie Foundation then convened the third and final panel, which selected four national winners. CASE and Carnegie select state winners from top entries resulting from the judging process. Panning was selected from faculty members nominated by colleges and universities throughout the country.

“The NY Professor of the Year Award is a well-deserved honor for Professor Panning. The College at Brockport community celebrates her accomplishments. At the same time, the honor reflects what is best about The College at Brockport faculty…a dedication to teaching, learning, and student success,” said Anne E. Huot, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

About the Carnegie Foundation
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching was founded in 1905 by Andrew Carnegie “to do all things necessary to encourage, uphold and dignify the profession of teaching.” The foundation is the only advanced-study center for teachers in the world and the third-oldest foundation in the nation. Its nonprofit research activities are conducted by a small group of distinguished scholars.

About The Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE)
The Council for Advancement and Support of Education is the largest international association of education institutions, serving nearly 3,400 universities, colleges, schools, and related organizations in 59 countries. CASE is the leading resource for professional development, information, and standards in the fields of educational fundraising, communications, marketing and alumni relations.


The College at Brockport, State University of New York
350 New Campus Drive * Brockport, New York 14420-2931
(585) 395-2754 * FAX (585) 395-2723 *

Find a News Bureau Release