Skip Navigation

Strategic Planning II

Committee 3:
How Will Our Students Learn?

Committee Co-chairs:

  • Dena Levy, Senate Chair of the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
  • Michael Fox, Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs

Committee Members:

  • Ann Altmeyer, Public Administration
  • Betsy Balzano, Education and Human Development
  • Sharon Belle-Render, Counseling Center
  • Ruth Childs, Theatre
  • Mary Ann Giglio, Student Learning Center
  • Sandra Holingbaugh-Beltz, Delta College
  • Kad Lakshmanan, Computer Science
  • Jeff Lashbrook, Sociology
  • Craig Lending, CELT/Biological Sciences
  • Barbara LeSavoy, EOP
  • Jose Maliekal, Earth Sciences
  • Mary Jo Orzech, IT Services
  • Heather Proseus, BASO
  • Osman Yasar, Computational Science

Revised Task Question:

How can faculty enable our students to be better learners?

Revised Committee Questions:

  • What are the "best practices" for the use of active learning techniques?
  • How can faculty be motivated to incorporate emerging technologies, simulations, modeling, field experiences and internships as ways of creating active learning environments?
  • How can the College best support the faculty development necessary to promote innovative teaching?
  • How can our part-time/adjunct faculty be helped to participate in the use of innovative pedagogy?
  • How can we help students take more responsibility for their learning?
  • How can we assess the effectiveness of non-traditional and innovative pedagogies?
  • How can innovative pedagogies increase productivity in relation to student learning?


Questions or Comments?

Questions or comments can be directed to committee co-chairs or to Colleen Donaldson, Strategic Planning Coordinator:

Colleen Donaldson, Strategic Planning Coordinator
Office of Academic Affairs
SUNY Brockport
350 New Campus Dr.
Brockport, NY 14420
(585) 395-5118