Skip Navigation

Brockport / The U / The Space / Awards

The Space - Student Organization Resource Center

Student Organization Awards

Congratulations to our award recipients and finalists.

“Unsung Hero” Award

This award recognizes a registered student organization member who has established themselves as a rising leader and made significant contributions to his or her organization but is not within an officially recognized leadership capacity for that student organization. This student gives their all to the organization, demonstrating true commitment and devotion to the organization’s causes both on campus and in the community. The nominee may be a member– they may not be the president of or in an officer capacity within their organization. The nominee should demonstrate potential for advancement to a leadership position and go above and beyond the typical requirements for a student organization general member.

  • 2015 Recipient: Kristen Kopunek, Active Minds
  • 2014 Recipient: Leah Smeltzer, Brockport Women's Rugby
  • 2013 Recipient: Kenny Beck, Circle K

Student Organization Officer of the Year

This award is open to a student organization officer. This award recognizes an individual who publicly advanced the mission of their organization while challenging and encouraging the membership to advance new initiatives, acquire new skills, and prepare the organization for leadership transition and ongoing success. This award is bestowed upon the individual who has illustrated the commitment and leadership that they have offered their organization/group, and most especially the community of – and/or surrounding - The College at Brockport as a whole.

  • 2015 Recipient: Meghan Brown, Brockport Swing Dance Society
    • 2015 Finalists: Greg Lewis, Ashley Owens
  • 2014 Recipient: Helem Fabre, SOUL President
    • 2014 Finalists: Kerlyne Colin, Kaley Donaldson, Brent Swanson
  • 2013 Recipient: Charles Ferussi - Established Student Organization Officer of the Year
  • 2013 Recipient: Michael Furness - Emerging Student Organization Officer of the Year

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

This award will be presented to the student organization advisor that showed outstanding leadership and advisement in supporting the efforts of the student organization. The individual receiving this award will be judged on their advisory and support skills for the student organization.

  • 2015 Recipient: Dr. Justin Walden, Brockport Public Relations Club
  • 2014 Recipient: Agnes Seneway, Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society
  • 2013 Recipient: Warren "Koz" Kozireski, 89.1 The Point

Student Organization of the Year Award

This award is open to any registered student organization at The College at Brockport.  Its purpose is to recognize a student organization that has embodied their mission and that of the College throughout the organization work during the current academic years. It honors one recognized student organization that has enhance the College, student community, the development of their organization members, and has continued to be reputable and have a strong presence on The College at Brockport’s campus and in the surrounding community.

  • 2015 Recipient: Organization for Students of African Descent
    • 2015 Finalists: Active Minds, Circle K, National Society of Collegiate Scholars
  • 2014 Recipient: Cancer Doesn't Fly with Eagles
    • 2014 Finalists: Autism Speaks U, Brockapella, The Hip Hop Dance Club, Women's Rugby
  • 2013 Recipient: Circle K
    • 2013 Finalist: Sexual Orientations United for Liberation, SOUL

The Outstanding Program/Event Award

This award is given to a registered student organization that hosted an on campus event during the previous school year.  The award specifically recognizes events or programs that are collaborative, innovative, and unique, reach a wide audience on campus, and have clearly stated outcomes.

  • 2015 Recipient: African Student Union (ASU)'s "Fresh Water Challenge"
    • 2015 Finalist: Environmentally Conscious Organization for Society (ECOS)'s "Clean the Port"
  • 2014 Recipient: Cancer Doesn't Fly with Eagles' St. Baldrick's Event
  • 2013 Recipient: SOUL's "Jennifer Boylan: A Life in Two Genders"

Fraternity & Sorority Life's Scholarly Awards

This award is given to a current fraternal male and female who has achieved the highest cumulative grade point average in the fraternal system.

  • 2015 Scholarly Male of the Year: Stefan Friedrich, Pi Kappa Phi
  • 2015 Scholarly Female of the Year: Stephanie Brangan, Phi Sigma Sigma

If you have any questions contact: Student Union & Activities
Phone: 395-5646

Last Updated 6/25/15