Skip Navigation


Student Learning Center
Study Skills Workshops
Fall 2015

The Student Learning Center encourages new students to attend.
Workshops are free and open to all Brockport students.

Study Skills Workshops Fall 2015
The SLC’s study skills program provides students with the opportunity to develop the skills needed to be successful at the college level. Workshops on textbook reading, lecture note-taking, time management, and learning are offered several times each semester.  The Save Your Semester Workshops (SYS) help students prepare for the challenges that take place at the end of the semester. Study skills workshops are open to all Brockport students.  All workshops take place in Room B-8L Cooper Hall.

Textbook Reading
Monday, September 14
10:10-11 a.m.

Wednesday, September 23
2:30-3:20 p.m.

Tuesday, September 29
11-11:50 a.m.

Monday, October 5
11:15 a.m.-12:05 p.m.

Thursday, October 15
11-11:50 a.m.

Wednesday, October 21
2:30-3:20 p.m.

Time Management
Wednesday, September 16
9:05-9:55 a.m.

Thursday, September 24
2-2:50 p.m.

Monday, September 28

Thursday, October 8
2-2:50 p.m.

Tuesday, October 13
11-11:50 a.m.

Friday, October 23
10:10-11 a.m.

Mindsets & Metacognition
Thursday, September 17
12:30-1:20 p.m.

Monday, September 21
1:25-2:15 p.m.

Friday, October 2

Wednesday, October 7
11:15 a.m.-12:05 p.m.

Wednesday, October 14
2:30-3:20 p.m.

Thursday, October 22
2-2:50 p.m.

Lecture Note-taking
Thursday, September 17
9:30-10:20 a.m.

Tuesday, September 22
11-11:50 a.m.

Wednesday, September 30
2:30-3:20 p.m.




Save Your Semester
Monday, November 2
10:10-11 a.m.

Tuesday, November 3
2-2:50 p.m.

Thursday, November 5






Please Note:
Cancellation 10/7/15






Crafting Sentences: Many Choices
and a Few Rules Workshops

Crafting Sentences:  Many Choices and a Few Rules
is an interactive sentence workshop for beginning writers who want options,
punctuation rules, and practice.  The workshop provides an overview of comma
and semicolon rules with sentence combining and sentence imitating exercises. Please bring a 1-4 paged typed, double-spaced essay to this workshop. Workshops are available upon request. Contact Elisabeth Gonzalez at (585) 395-55472 to scheudle.