Spring 2016 Schedule

Main Page Content

The Writer's Forum

Spring 2016 – 49th Season

Unless otherwise noted, all Writers Forum readings begin at 8 pm
and are held on the College at Brockport campus, in the New York Room, Cooper Hall.
Writers Forum events are free and open to the public.

Major JacksonMajor Jackson, poet
Wednesday, February 10

Major Jackson is the author of four poetry collections: Roll DeepHolding Company, Hoops, and Leaving Saturn, which won the Cave Canem Poetry Prize and was a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist. He has received a Pushcart Prize, a Whiting Writers’ Award, and a Pew Fellowship in the Arts.

Lia Purpura

Lia Purpura, poet and essayist
Wednesday, February 24

Lia Purpura’s new book of poems, It Shouldn't Have Been Beautiful, was published in October 2015. She has written three previous poetry collections, three collections of essays, and a book of Grzegorz Musiał translations. A finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, she has been awarded Guggenheim and Fulbright fellowships.

Karen Solie

Karen Solie, poet
Wednesday, March 23

Karen Solie was born in Saskatchewan. Her first collection, Short Haul Engine, was awarded the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize. She won three prizes for another collection, Pigeon, including the prestigious Griffin Poetry Prize. Her fourth book, The Road In Is Not the Same Road Out, was published in 2015.

Barry Lopez

2016 Art of Fact Award

Barry Lopez, essayist and fiction writer
Wednesday, April 13
7:30 pm
Temple B'rith Kodesh, 2131 Elmwood Ave., Rochester

Barry Lopez is the author of Arctic Dreams, for which he received the National Book Award; Of Wolves and Men, a National Book Award finalist and recipient of the John Burroughs and Christopher medals; and eight works of fiction, including Light Action in the Caribbean, Field Notes, and Resistance. His work has appeared in dozens of anthologies, including Best American Essays, Best Spiritual Writing, and the “best” collections from National Geographic, The Georgia Review, and The Paris Review.

The Art of Fact Award is generously funded by M&T Bank.

John McManusJohn McManus, fiction writer
Wednesday, April 27

John McManus is the author of three short story collections and the novel Bitter Milk. His work has appeared in Ploughshares, Tin House, McSweeney’s, American Short Fiction, Electric Literature, Oxford American, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, the Fellowship of Southern Writers’ New Writing Award, and a Creative Capital literature grant.

Close mobile nav

Last Updated 10/12/17