Student Awards & Activities


The Department of History is extremely proud of the the tradition of excellence set by our majors and graduate students.

Main Page Content

We honor many of these achievements every year at the Department Awards and Scholarships Ceremony, where we distribute 14 annual awards funded through the generosity of alumni, faculty, and friends of the department. Traditionally, our students have also been very successful in winning campus-wide awards. For the past three years, a history student has won the award for Outstanding Graduate Student in The School of Arts and Sciences. See below for a list of recent awardees.

The department is also proud of our students' engagement in scholarship and the study of history outside the classroom. In addition to our undergraduate history club, History Forum, our majors and graduate students have historically been well represented at Scholars Day and some have traveled to present at undergraduate and graduate level conferences throughout the region.

Follow the links below to see what our students are doing and how you can get involved!


We are delighted to announce that the following students have won campus-wide awards.

Paul Constantine
Outstanding Graduate Student Award, The School of Arts and Sciences This is the third year in a row that this award has gone to a history graduate student. In 2010-2011 Karin Torres Pena won the award, and in 2009-2010 Michael Fickess won the Graduate award and history major Peter Manktelow won the Outstanding Undergraduate Student award in The School of Arts and Sciences.

Justin Jackson
President's Citation Award This is the highest award given to a graduating senior at The College at Brockport. It recognizes a student who is not only outstanding in the classroom — the minimum GPA for consideration is 3.75 — but also one who enhances the life of the College and the surrounding community through their involvement in extracurricular activities.

Natalie Walton
Distinguished Professors Award for Graduate Student Research This competitive, merit-based award funds original graduate student research.

Paige Doerner and Ben Young (co-awardee)
Anne and Lynn Parsons Award Due to the large number of high caliber applications submitted this year, the College decided to award two Parsons fellowships, and both were won by history students in our 4+1 program! The grant, which helps cover the cost of tuition, was established in 2006 by Dr. Lynn and Anne Parsons. This award has a special link with the Department of History. Dr. Lynn Parsons is an emeritus professor in the department (his wife, Anne, worked in IT Support Services), and the first award in 2006 went to a history student, Jasmine Bonow.

Clubs and Organizations

Last Updated 4/11/18

Close mobile nav