NEW DATE: Antara Winds "Across the Americas" Concert Rescheduled for March 7: The College at Brockport

Main Page Content

NEW DATE: Antara Winds "Across the Americas" Concert Rescheduled for March 7

(Postponed from February 16)

Wednesday, March 7, is the new date for the rescheduled Antara Winds concert. The concert will still take place at 7:30 pm in The College at Brockport's Tower Fine Arts Center Mainstage. Tickets are $17/General, $12/Seniors, Alumni, Faculty and Staff, and $9/Students.

Founded in 1982, the Antara Winds, the resident wind ensemble of the Hochstein School of Music and Dance, is comprised of all women who are educators and professional musicians, have appeared regularly on “Live from Hochstein” and have performed extensively throughout the greater Rochester area. In addition to presenting traditional repertoire for woodwind quintet, the Antara Winds delight in bringing audiences the music of contemporary composers. The members of the ensemble are Diane Smith, flute; Judith Ricker, oboe; Margaret Quackenbush, clarinet; Nikolette LaBonte, horn; and Blaire Koerner, bassoon.

According to Quackenbush, their program, “Across the Americas,” is designed to “whisk the concertgoer around the globe, hearing music influenced by the composers’ homelands or, in Antonin Dvořák’s case, his temporary home.” Dvořák spent three years in the United States as the director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York; it was during a vacation in rural Iowa that the beloved “String Quartet No. 12 in F major,” Op. 96, was written. Also known as the “American” String Quartet, it has been transcribed for a variety of musical ensembles and is, along with the “New World” Symphony and perhaps a handful of the Slavonic Dances, the only Dvořák music that many music-lovers have ever learned to recognize.

Arguably the most renowned tango musician in the world, one of Argentine-born Astor Piazzolla’s most popular works, “Libertango,” has been arranged for various instruments and combinations, including wind ensemble. In the composer’s own words, “‘Libertango’ stands for the freedom which I allow for my musicians. Their limits are defined solely by the extent of their own capabilities and not through any exterior pressure.”

The most recently composed piece on the program is Jeff Scott’s “Startin’ Sumthin’,” which is a modern take on the genre of ragtime music, that has also been likened to the smooth jazz of Henry Mancini, like his “Theme from The Pink Panther.”

John Steinmetz’s “Quintet” is an amazingly diverse work, designed to show off the robust playing of the ensemble, particularly the flute and horn. Steinmetz is himself a bassoonist, but his “Quintet” proves that he appreciates all the instruments in the wind quintet.



Tower Fine Arts Center Box Office: (585) #95-2787

Events & Activities

Close mobile navigation