Congratulations to this year's Student Organization Award Recipients!: The College at Brockport

Main Page Content

Congratulations to this year's Student Organization Award Recipients!

On Sunday, April 29, 2018, Student Union and Activities, Brockport Student Government, and Campus Recreation hosted the Student Organization Appreciation Banquet to celebrate our 131 student organizations.

These student organizations are led by more than 426 students who hold student organization officer positions (presidents, vice presidents, secretaries, and treasurers). These organizations are supported by 80 dedicated faculty and staff members who serve as advisors. The following awards were announced and celebrated at our banquet.

Student Organization of the Year Award: This award is open to any registered student organization at The College at Brockport. Its purpose is to recognize a student organization that has embodied their mission and that of the College throughout the organization work during the current academic years. It honors one recognized student organization that has enhance the College, student community, the development of their organization members, and has continued to be reputable and have a strong presence on The College at Brockport’s campus and in the surrounding community.

2018 Recipient: Association of Latinx American Students (ALAS)

2018 Finalists: Phi Sigma Sigma - Delta Sigma Chapter, Club Gymnastics, Student Social Work Organization, Habitat for Humanity, Student Dance Organization

Student Organization Officer of the Year: This award is open to a student organization officer. This award recognizes an individual who publicly advanced the mission of their organization while challenging and encouraging the membership to advance new initiatives, acquire new skills, and prepare the organization for leadership transition and ongoing success. This award is bestowed upon the individual who has illustrated the commitment and leadership that they have offered their organization/group, and most especially the community of — and/or surrounding — The College at Brockport as a whole.

2018 Recipient: Bailey Morse, Gender Equity Movement

2018 Finalists: Melanie Bernocco (Women's Club Gymnastics), Carissa Bishop and Megan Mariotti (Brockport Dance Team), Jordan Soldaczewski (Talon Television), Savannah Valentin (Association of Latinx American Students)

Student Organization Event of the Year Award: This award is given out by Student Union and Activities to a registered student organization that hosted an on campus event during the previous school year. The award specifically recognizes events or programs that are collaborative, innovative, and unique, reach a wide audience on campus, and have clearly stated outcomes.

2018 Recipient: "Brockport Beats Brain Tumors" Men's Club Ice Hockey

Student Organization Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative Award: This award is presented to a registered student organization that has demonstrated sustained initiatives to promote diversity, build community, raise awareness, and create a more inclusive and equitable atmosphere at The College at Brockport.

Men of Color

Student Organization “Unsung Hero” Award: This award recognizes a registered student organization member who has established themselves as a rising leader and made significant contributions to his or her organization but is not within an officially recognized leadership capacity for that student organization. This student gives their all to the organization, demonstrating true commitment and devotion to the organization’s causes both on campus and in the community.

2018 Recipient: Mark Washington, Brockport Men's Rugby Football Club

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: This award will be presented to the student organization advisor that showed outstanding leadership and advisement in supporting the efforts of the student organization. The individual receiving this award will be judged on their advisory and support skills for the student organization.

2018 Recipient: Warren Kozireski, 89.1 The Point

Eagle Service Group Honor Roll: The Eagle Service Group Honor Roll gives groups on campus college-wide recognition for dedication and commitment to serving those in their community.

Bronze (minimum of 80 registered service hours):

Brockport Animal Rescue & Care (BARC)

Brockport Club Gymnastics

Brockport Men's Club Volleyball

Gold (minimum of 120 registered service hours):

Association of Latinx American Students (ALAS)

Brockport Dance Team

Brockport Women's Club Rugby

Delta Phi Epsilon

Phi Sigma Sigma

Pi Kappa Phi

Officer Leadership Certificate recipients

Matthew Goris, Association of Latinx American Students (ALAS)

Jenayah McCarthy, Delta Phi Epsilon

Paola Severino, Foreign Language Club

Fraternity & Sorority Life Awards:

Scholars of the Year: Noah Basehart, Phi Kappa Phi and Sara Purvis, Phi Sigma Sigma

Most Impactful Community Service Award: “The Little Library” – Inter-Greek Council

Chapter of the Year: Phi Sigma Sigma - Delta Sigma Chapter

Campus Recreation Club Sport Awards:

Club Sport Rookie of the Year: Amy Kindlon, Brockport Dance Team

Club Sport Leader of the Year: Melanie Bernocco, Women's Club Gymnastics

Club Sport Member of the Year: Devon Greig, Women’s Rugby Football Club

Club Sport Spirit Award: Nate Diaz, Brockport Dance Team

Club Sport Athlete of the Year: Erica Atkins, Women's Club Gymnastics

Club Sport of the Year: Club Gymnastics

Brockport Student Government Awards:

BSG Social Arts Council Club of the Year: Student Dance Organization (SDO)

BSG Service Council Club of the Year: Habitat for Humanity

BSG Academic Council Club of the Year: Student Social Work Organization (SSWO)

BSG Cultural Council Club of the Year: Association of Latinx American Students (ALAS)

A special thank you to the Banquet Planning Committee for their hard work on creating such a special event.


Christal Dewberry, Graduate Assistant (Student Organizations and Fraternity & Sorority Life), Student Union and Activities,

Student News

Close mobile navigation