Brockport Symphony Orchestra Presents "Spring Celebration Concert": The College at Brockport

Main Page Content

Brockport Symphony Orchestra Presents "Spring Celebration Concert"

April 28, 2019 4:00 pm–5:30 pm

Brockport students, faculty, alumni, community members, and guest artists will be showcased on stage in the historic sanctuary at St. Luke's Episcopal Church on Sunday, April 28 at 4 pm.

Celebrating its ninth innovative season, the Brockport Symphony Orchestra is not affiliated with the Department of Theatre and Music Studies. This project is made possible with funds from the Decentralization Program, a regrant program of the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature and administered by the Genesee Valley Council on the Arts.

The Brockport Symphony Orchestra will present their “Spring Celebration Concert” on Sunday, April 28, 4 pm in the historic sanctuary at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, 14 State Street, Brockport. Admission and parking are free, and canned items for the Brockport Food Shelf and donations for the Food Shelf, St. Luke’s, and the orchestra will be gratefully accepted at the door. Directed by Jonathan Allentoff '14, this concert will showcase the talents of vocal soloist Mary Wojciechowski, composer and pianist Emmanuel Sikora, guitar soloist Sungmin Shin, and cello soloist Larry Fagen.

Recently featured at the Rochester International Jazz Festival, Wojciechowski will sing “People” by Jule Styne and Bob Merrill and “On a Clear Day” by Burton Lane and Alan Jay Lerner. Sikora, an internationally-acclaimed composer with recent performances by the Lviv Philharmonic and the Syracuse University Symphony Orchestra, will appear as piano soloist in the premiere of his new work, “Larghetto for Piano and Strings.” University at Buffalo and RIT faculty member Sungmin Shin will perform “Andantino alla Romanza” from Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s “Guitar Concerto.” Fagen, the orchestra’s principal cellist, will perform Jay Chattaway’s “The Inner Light” from “Star Trek: The Next Generation.”

The program also includes Miklos Rozsa’s theme from “A Double Life” in a new restoration by Allentoff and “Fanfare for Freedom” by British composer Paul Barker. There will be a complimentary dessert reception in Parish Hall following the performance.

For additional information, please visit




Alumni in the News

Close mobile navigation