Annual Leadership Award Opportunities

Romina Owolewa giving Marion Schrank acceptance speechReveal Caption

Romina Owolewa, recipient of the Marion Schrank Award, delivers her speech at the awards ceremony.

Close Caption

Numerous awards and scholarships recognize student leadership at Brockport.

Main Page Content

SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence acknowledges students who have achieved excellence. We seek nominations of students who have best demonstrated and been recognized for their integration of academic excellence with other aspects of their lives, which may include: leadership, community service, arts (creative or performing), athletics, and/or career achievement. It is the highest honor bestowed upon a student by the University.

Marion Schrank Student Leadership Award

The Marion Schrank Student Leadership Award is the pinnacle of student leadership awards at The College at Brockport. The recipient of this award exemplifies integrity and civility, with a demonstrated desire to build a better community. Each year, the selection committee seeks applications from students who have a record of exemplary leadership, scholastic achievement, and a commitment to the college community through various modes of involvement, including campus organizations, leadership positions, peer mentorship, engaged learning, and community service. Recipients of this award demonstrate a commitment to citizenship and the creation of an inclusive Brockport community.

Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellowship

This fellowship recognizes and supports community-committed students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. The fellowship, named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman, provides training and resources that nurture students’ assets and passions to help them develop strategies to achieve social change. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need in order to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities.

Omicron Delta Kappa Emerging Leader Award

The Omicron Delta Kappa Emerging Leader Award seeks to recognize students that, in the short time they have been on our campus, have demonstrated incredible potential and an excellent commitment to scholarship, leadership, and service. This award is given to a freshman, sophomore, or international student who has shown themselves to be dedicated to scholarship, service, integrity, character, and fellowship.

Josh Silber '93 Excellence in Leadership Award

This $1,000 award is given to one student who demonstrates leadership skills through service to the College and/or community. Examples may include but are not limited to: service in a position of leadership with Brockport Student Government (BSG) or other student clubs or organizations, being a successful and respected Resident Assistant (RA), or organizing and leading a group of peers or others in a successful fundraising or community service activity.

John R. Halstead Family Leadership in Higher Education Award

The scholarship is awarded to one student entering their junior or senior year who demonstrates strong academic achievement and leadership skills through service to the College and/or community. The recipient must also show genuine commitment to a career in higher education and further studies in college student development.

Donald and Gloria Huot Excellence in Leadership Award

The $1,000 scholarships support two students entering their junior years who demonstrate strong academic achievement and leadership skills through service to the College and/or community. Preference will be given to first-generation college students. These awards are made possible through the generosity of former provost Dr. Anne Huot, in honor and appreciation of her parents, Donald and Gloria Huot.

Elaine Leshnower Scholarship in Social Equality

This award recognizes a rising junior- or senior-level student who demonstrates a concern for social equality through community service, social justice, tolerance, diversity, and inclusiveness. 

George Rich Student Philanthropy Award

This award recognizes students who have made significant contributions to The College at Brockport community in the form of service, monetary donation, or creative works.

Ray M. DiPasquale Student Life Award

This scholarship recognizes a student who is actively involved on campus and/or in a student organization. 

Last Updated 8/6/19

Close mobile navigation